The MediSURF consortium consists of an interdisciplinary team of experts in designing coiled-coil proteins, membrane biophysics, bionanotechnology, structural biology, synthetic biology and chemistry. Among these experts are world leaders in integrating molecular imaging with bioactivity for application of nanostructured materials in diagnosis and therapy (Mareque & Llop/CIC biomaGUNE), artificial membrane fusion systems (Kros/Leiden University), advanced electron microscopy of soft matter (Sommerdijk/TUe), and designed modular nanostructures and molecular immunology (Jerala/National Institute of Chemistry).